hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:20:29 Sep 30, 2014, and is part of the University of Alberta Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information


Chancellors of the University of Alberta

Assiniboia Hall (c. 1995-2007)

It remains no small feat trying to chair the Senate, serve as a member of the Board of Governors, represent the University at ceremonial occasions, preside over Convocation, and connect the community to the University. The Chancellor of the University of Alberta is a volunteer position with wide-ranging responsibilities. Acting as titular head of the University, the Chancellor volunteers his or her time to oversee numerous partnerships, ceremonies, and meetings.

The passing of the University Act in 1906 officially established the University of Alberta, as well as a governing body, faculties, a Registrar, and a Chancellor. The University of Alberta has had seventeen Chancellors. Eric P. Newell is the eighteenth Chancellor of the University of Alberta and has served in this capacity since 2004. The previous Chancellors have included many remarkable and notable individuals including Alberta's first Premier, Alexander Cameron Rutherford, Senator Jean Beatrice Forest, and the Honourable Lois Elsa Hole.

Chancellors of the University of Alberta Senate
2004– Eric P. Newell
2000–2004 John Thomas Ferguson
1998–2000 Lois Elsa Hole
1994–1998 Louis Davies Hyndman
1990–1994 Sandy Auld Mactaggart
1986–1990 Tevie Harold Miller
1982–1986 Peter Savaryn
1978–1982 Jean Beatrice Forest
1974–1978 Ronald Norman Dalby
1970–1974 Louis Armand Desrochers
1964–1970 Francis Philip Galbraith
1958–1964 Laurence Yeomans Cairns
1952–1958 Earle Parkhill Scarlett
1946–1952 George Fred McNally
1942–1946 Frank Ford
1927–1942 Alexander Cameron Rutherford
1926–1927 Nicolas Dubois Dominic Beck
1908–1926 Charles Allan Stuart

Copyright © University of Alberta | Heritage Community Foundation | Albertasource.ca
All Rights Reserved