hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:20:53 Sep 30, 2014, and is part of the University of Alberta Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information


Volunteerism and Community Service

The University of Alberta Senate celebrates and recognizes faculty, staff, and students who volunteer outside the boundaries of campus.

Through the Beyond These Halls: Senate Community Service Recognition Program, launched in 2000 to support and encourage the valuable volunteer and community service efforts of faculty, staff, and students, the University of Alberta values, recognizes, and celebrates the community service achievements of its faculty, staff, and students who share their research and/or teaching expertise with the community or provide other community services. The University is committed to sharing its accomplishments with the broader community, and volunteerism by faculty, staff, and students is critical to realizing the Vision of the University.

The University of Alberta Senate compiles information on the individual and collective community service and volunteer contributions of the members of our university community. In 2005, the University community contributed a combined total of 118,489 community service hours! This work is extremely important to the University and to its communities—such a high number of volunteer hours confirms the University's engagement in activities that develop leadership, foster social and moral responsibility, and contribute to the development of civil society and democratic institutions.

The valuable volunteer and community service efforts of faculty, staff, and students bring the university to the people, beyond these halls. These pages explore not only awards and honours bestowed by the University of Alberta upon its dedicated volunteers, but also outlines external honours and recognition.

Copyright © University of Alberta | Heritage Community Foundation | Albertasource.ca
All Rights Reserved