hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:23:08 Sep 30, 2014, and is part of the University of Alberta Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information


Peter Lougheed
Peter Lougheed


School of Business
School of Business

Timms Centre
Timms Centre

Walter C. Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre
Walter C. Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre

Timeline from 1900 to 2000 1910 1930 1950 1970 1990 1900 1920 1940 1960 1980 2000

University of Alberta Timeline (1980–89)


A Cooperative Program (1979-1980) between Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry offers a B.Sc. (Agricultural Engineering) degree.

Devonian Botanic Garden opens to the public.


North Garneau housing plans halved

Joe Shocter receives honorary LLD degree


Max Wyman (U of A’s seventh President) receives honorary LLD

Walter Johns (U of A sixth President) receives Alberta Order of Excellence

University Research Prize is created by J. Gordon Kaplan and awarded for the first time.


75th Anniversary celebrations

World University Games

Prince Charles receives honorary LLD

Butterdome, Tennis Centre, and new student housing are legacy of the Games

Harry Gunning (U of A’s eighth President) receives honorary LLD

Lewis Herbert Thomas (History) receives Order of Canada

Joe Clark receives Alberta Order of Excellence

Merger of the University Library with the Bibliothèque Saint-Jean.


Business Building officially opens

CJSR campus radio station goes public

Walter MacKenzie Centre, Phase 1 opens

Special Collections Department, renamed in honour of Bruce Peel, moves from Cameron Library to the lower level of the old Rutherford Library.


Joe Clark (former Prime Minister and U of A student) receives honorary LLD.

John W. Scott Health Sciences Library moves into the newly built Walter Mackenzie Centre and University Hospital.


Northwest Territories (NWT) Commissioner John Parker (U of A alumni) turns over the chair of Territories’ executive council to the Honorable Nick Sibbeston, government leader (also a U of A alumni).

Peter Lougheed (former Alberta Premier and U of A student) receives honorary LLD

Mel Hurtig (publisher) receives honorary LLD.

Faculty of Business, the Winspear Business Reading Room opens.

Werner Israel (Physics) given Royal Society of London fellowship

The Archives becomes a unit within a new Department of University Archives and Collections.

School of Native Studies is established.


Yellowknife, NWT — first time U of A Senators meet outside Alberta’s borders

U of A Task Force is established to identify and assess educational needs of people living in Northern Alberta and the Northwest Territories.

Henry Kreisel (Comparative Literature) receives Order of Canada.

After an extraordinary contribution to Alberta, the Extension Library closes.


John Scholosser (U of A Board of Governors, Chair) receives honorary LLD

In memory of J. Gordin Kaplan, the University’s most prestigious research award is named the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research.


Paul Davenport becomes President.

Peter Lougheed receives Alberta Order of Excellence.

Copyright © University of Alberta | Heritage Community Foundation | Albertasource.ca
All Rights Reserved