hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 20:47:10 Sep 30, 2014, and is part of the University of Alberta Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.


Louis D. Hyndman Sr. Lecture and Awards

Presented annually, the Louis D. Hyndman Sr. Lecture and Awards were established in 1994 by the University of Alberta Animal Policy and Welfare Committee with a bequest from Louis D. Hyndman Sr. These events commemorate Hyndman's lifelong concern for animal welfare and are presented for significant contributions to the welfare of animals used in research and teaching at the University of Alberta.

Two awards are given annually, one to a scientist and the other to a technician, to recognize individuals who have introduced improvements in the welfare of animals in their care or who have effectively reduced or replaced the use of animals in their work.

Past recipients of this award include:

Douglas Korver, Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science

Karim Fouad, Rehabilitation Medicine

Barry Irving, Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science
Craig Wilkinson, Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science

Mavanur Suresh, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Robert Hudson, Renewable Resources

Frank Robinson, Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science

Warren Gallin, Biological Sciences
Donald McKay, Biosciences Animal Service

Douglas Scraba*, Biochemistry

Toni Bayans, Office of Research Certifications and Approvals

David Neil†, Health Sciences Laboratory Animal Services

William Samuel†, Biological Sciences

† indicates Professor Emeritus
* indicates deceased

Copyright © University of Alberta | Heritage Community Foundation | Albertasource.ca
All Rights Reserved