hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:10:21 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Top Left of Navigation Bar The Foothills Region Title
See what's unique about AlbertaView our site layout to navigate to specific areasSearch our site for informationObtain help for navigating our sitePlease emails us your questions and comments!View our partners that helped us in this project

Back to Natural Regions map
The Boreal Forest Region
The Canadian Shield Region
The Foothills Region
The Grassland Region
The Parkland Region
The Rocky Mountain Region

Visit Alberta Source!
Visit the Heritage Community Foundation
Visit Canada's Digital Collections

The Foothills Region

Most Albertans are familiar with the Upper and Lower Foothill regions of their province adjacent to the Rocky Mountains which, together with the Rockies, are commonly referred to as the Eastern Slopes. Comprised of flat-topped hills that rise 300 to 600 metres above the surrounding lowlands, the Foothills are not only a region of majestic beauty, they are also home to some of the most interesting species in the province, including the most inland race of grizzly bears in North America. The Foothill region however, also covers a large area northwest of the town of Peace River, extending from the Eastern Slopes northeast to the Swan Hills.

The Foothills landscapeThe Foothills Natural Region is transitional zone situated between the Rocky Mountain Natural Region and the Boreal Forest Natural Region. It consists of two subregions, the Lower Foothills and the Upper Foothills. It occurs from about Turner Valley in the south, north along the eastern edge of the Rocky Mountains in a gradually widening belt, and also includes several outlying hill masses such as the Swan Hills, Pelican Mountain, and the Naylor Hills.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on the natural history of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved