hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:10:25 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Top Left of Navigation Bar The Rocky Mountain Region Title
Species at Risk in AlbertaView our site layout to navigate to specific areasSearch our site for informationObtain help for navigating our sitePlease emails us your questions and comments!View our partners that helped us in this project

Back to Natural Regions Map The Boreal Forest Region
The Canadian Shield Region
The Foothills Region
The Grassland Region
The Parkland Region
The Rocky Mountain Region

Visit Alberta Source!
Visit the Heritage Community Foundation
Visit Canada's Digital Collections

The Rocky Mountain Region

Rocky Mountain Natural RegionThe Rocky Mountain region of Alberta covers over half of the province's western border. Largely due to the width and variety of the mountain terrain the Rocky Mountain natural region is comprised of a series of topographically diverse conditions that produce a unique association of plants and animals, many not found anywhere else in the province. The major valleys parallel the mountain ranges, and at various points the ranges have been cleft by drainage systems allowing the exit of waters from these valleys. Thus major river systems leaving the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta flow in an easterly direction.

The Rocky Mountain Natural Region is part of a major uplift that trends along the western part of Alberta forming the Continental Divide. It is distinguished from the Foothills Natural Region primarily by structural geology, age and lithology. The Rocky Mountain Natural Region is underlain primarily by upthrust and folded carbonate and quartzitic bedrock whereas the Foothills Natural Region is mostly composed of deformed sandstone and shale

Majestic view of the Rocky MountainsExceptions include areas of the Montane Subregion in the "geological" Foothills of the Porcupine and Cypress Hills, and occurrences of the Subalpine and Alpine subregions on folded bedrock of the "geological" Foothills Belt in the Kakwa area.

This Region is the most rugged topographically in Alberta and ranges in width from only 10 kilometres in the Waterton Lakes National Park area to more than 100 kilometres in the central portion. Elevations rise from east to west, from major river valleys at 1000 to 1500 metres to 3700 metres along the Continental Divide.

Mount CampbellThe two major mountain ranges, the easterly Front Ranges and the westerly Main Ranges, are composed mostly of thrust-faulted sediments. Major valleys trend from southeast -northwest through the mountains and are typically occupied by large rivers. Many of Alberta's largest rivers are found within this region where they drain into the Saskatchewan and Mackenzie River systems. The highest mountains occur in the central part of the Region with the lower mountains in the far north and far south. Within the Rocky Mountain Natural Region there have been three natural subregions identified: Montane, Subalpine and Alpine, which mainly reflect changes in environmental conditions due to changes in altitude and aspect.

Information provided by and printed with the permission of Alberta Community Development, Provincial Parks and Protected Areas.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on the natural history of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved