hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:12:07 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia and Edukits

Aboriginal Youth Identity Series: Spirituality and CreationGlossaryTidbits
student zone


  • There are currently eight major Aboriginal groups in Alberta
    • Slavey
    • Beaver
    • Dene
    • Woodland Cree
    • Stoney
    • Plains Cree
    • Sarcee
    • Blackfoot Confederacy
  • Using proper protocol it is possible to approach an Elder in the community. If you unsure of who the Elders are in your community, contact the Canadian Native Friendship Center, Métis organizations or First Nations cultural centers or reserves
  • When visiting Elders, show respect and listen. Do not talk out loud or walk around while the Elder is speaking, and remember to present a gift when they are finished
  • Not all Creation stories are meant to be shared
  • Creation stories are sacred and will remain with the Elders until they feel it is time they are shared


« Back   Top

Home Credits Edukit Team Comments Copyright Albertasource