hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:16:57 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.

Campus Saint-Jean

Saint-Jean became a faculty of the University of Alberta in 1977. Before that, it had been run by the Oblate fathers. Now, many consider it Alberta's Francophone university.

Saint-Jean had begun in Pincher Creek in 1908, and moved to the Bonnie Doon district of Edmonton in 1911. Over the years, Saint-Jean served many purposes and had many different names. It began as Juniorat Saint-Jean. It then became Collège Saint-Jean, Collège universitaire Saint-Jean, Faculté Saint-Jean, and it is now called Campus Saint-Jean.

New programs have been added to the B.A; B.Ed; and B.Sc. programs. The Baccalauréat bilingue en administration des affaires is unique in Canada. Saint-Jean now offers the first year of the Engineering degree. In 2001-2002, a Maîtrise en arts en études canadiennes was added to the Maîtrise en éducation which was established in 1992. In 2004, a Baccalauréat bilingue en sciences infirmières was offered jointly with the University of Alberta.


Heritage Community Foundation logoEdukits.ca logoCanadian Heritage logo