Campus Saint-Jean (Book)
The Heritage Community Foundation, in partnership with the Campus Saint-Jean (formerly known as the Faculté Saint-Jean), is proud to present Faculté Saint-Jean - Regards, paroles et gestes, a commemorative book by France Levasseur-Ouimet that highlights the life and times of the Faculté Saint-Jean between 1908 and 1997, as well as those of the people who helped shape the Faculté into what it is today.
The photo documentation of the St. Paul Cemetery was done by the Musée historique de Saint-Paul, which was founded in 1979 as a committee of the Saint Paul regional section of the Association canadienne-française de l'Alberta. St. Paul is important to the telling of the story of the Oblates in the West. In January 1896, following the recommendation of Father Albert Lacombe and an earlier request for a land grant presented to Ottawa in 1895, Bishop Grandin appointed Fr Adéodat Thérien as the spiritual caretaker of a colony for the Métis population. The Church was granted a 21-year lease by the Federal cabinet, and the colony was known as St-Paul-des-Métis until 1913. In 1910, it was opened up to Francophone settlement and, today, is a vibrant Francophone community. This cultural memory and living tradition project, done through the photography of grave markers, is a useful genealogical tool documenting, in physical way, the community’s families.
This project has been supported in part by the Canada-Alberta Agreement on French-language Services; the opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of the Governments of Canada or Alberta.
Copyright © 2009 Heritage Community Foundation and
Institut pour le Patrimoine, Campus Saint-Jean, University of Alberta
All Rights Reserved