Faculté Saint-Jean Photo Exhibits
The three photo exhibits tell the fascinating story of this unique Western Canadian educational institution from its founding as the Oblate Junioriat College in Pincher Creek by Fr André Daridon. In 1910, it was moved to Edmonton and established on its present site in 1911 where it flourished. The Collège educated generations of Francophone Albertans as well as enriching the cultural life of the city through music, literature and a range of cultural events. Sports were also important to student life. In 1976, the Oblates sold it to the University of Alberta ultimately becoming a multidisciplinary Francophone Campus. The complex of buildings comprising the Campus anchor the French Quarter on the south side of the North Saskatchewan River. The text panels, on which the first exhibit was based, can be seen in the Salle du patrimoine, Pavilion Lacerte, Campus Saint-Jean, University of Alberta. Images in the exhibits are drawn from the Oblate Archives and the Campus Saint-Jean and the Heritage Community Foundation wish to acknowledge their gratitude to the Oblates for permission to reprint these materials.
This project has been supported in part by the Canada-Alberta Agreement on French-language Services; the opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of the Governments of Canada or Alberta.
Copyright © 2009 Heritage Community Foundation and
Institut pour le Patrimoine, Campus Saint-Jean, University of Alberta
All Rights Reserved