hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:21:26 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Dene Tha Reserves

The Dene Tha of Alberta were incorporated into Treaty Eight between 1899 and 1911 while those in the North West Territories entered Treaty Eleven between 1921-22. The Alberta Dene Tha have several bodies of land which are technically separate reserves but which belong to one band (GNCA, p. 97). The larger bodies of land are referred to as the Hay Lake, Bushe River, Amber River and Zama Lake reserves.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on place names of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.

Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved