hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:23:56 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia and Edukits

Alberta Naturally Natural Regions

Boreal Forest

The Foothills

The Grasslands

The Parkland

The Rocky Mountain

The Canadian

The Parkland Region

The Parkland Natural Region is also known as a transitional zone. It is in the middle of the dry, hot Grasslands (south) and the moist, cool Boreal Forest (north). The gently rolling landscape contains plains, hills, rivers, lakes, aspen woodlands, fescue grasslands, shrublands and wetlands. This region is located in three different areas of the province; the Peace River area, Central Alberta, and the Foothills east of the Rocky Mountains.

The climate of this region is the best in the province for vegetation. The region is a little cooler, with more moisture and less wind than the grasslands. Vegetation in the region is a mix of dry grasses and moist aspen forests. Around the wetland areas there is an abundance of plant life such as cattails and bulrushes.

The Parkland Natural Region is well developed and settled by humans. Only a small fraction of the land remains in its natural state. Much of the land was cleared for crops and grazing, and is the most productive agricultural land in the province. This is due to a long growing season, moisture and productive soils. Because the Parkland is mostly under cultivation, the federal and provincial governments have designated three areas as provincial parks in order to protect the natural environment.

The Parkland Natural Region experiences many of the same problems caused by humans as the Grassland Region. Due to development, vegetation disappears, leaving wildlife to search other areas for food if they are to survive.

The three sub-regions of the Parkland are known as Central, Foothills and Peace River regions. To learn more about the Parkland Natural Region and its three sub-regions follow the link below to the page and choose a sub-region listed above from the menu at the bottom of the page.


All content was adapted from:

Information provided by and printed with the permission of Alberta Community Development, Provincial Parks and Protected Areas.

Alberta Natural Regions Poster Series Manual (Alberta Environmental Protection)