Leitch Collieries was one of the
largest and most ambitious coal mines in the early history of the Crowsnest
Pass. Established in 1907, it was the only coal company in the Pass completely
Canadian owned and operated. Its first entry into coal seams occurred at Byron
Creek, south of the present site. The No. 2 mine was started in 1909, 1
kilometre northwest of the area known as Police Flats. However, chaotic coal
prices forced it to close in 1915.
Walk among the picturesque ruins of
the powerhouse, mine manager's residence, coke ovens, washery and tipple. Leitch
Collieries was declared an Alberta Provincial Historic Site in 1979, and the site
was officially opened to the public on September 10, 1983. The stone remains of the original buildings
display early coal mining methods and interpretive displays are on trails.
You can visit the Leitch Collieries off Highway 3 in the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass.
Frank Slide Interpretive Centre
Box 959, Blairmore
Crowsnest Pass, AB T0K 0EO
Phone (403) 5627388
Fax (403) 5628635
Seasonal phone May to September (403) 5644211