hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:28:36 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Resource Inventory
History of Development
Innovation and New Technology Visit Alberta Source! Heritage Community Foundation
Heritage Trails presented courtesy of CKUA Radio Network Canada's Digital Collections

Home > Innovation and New Technology > Resource Protection > Agriculture > AESA



Alberta has continued CAESA's momentum through a new initiative—the Alberta Environmentally Sustainable Agriculture (AESA) Program. AESA helps with the development of new information and research on environmentally sustainable agriculture; transfers new technology and information into the hands of farmers, ranchers, and processors; and monitors the impact of the agriculture industry on soil and water quality. 

Funding for the AESA program is approximately $5 million annually. This commitment represents a doubling of provincial investment in programs for environmentally sustainable agriculture to replace the withdrawal of federal funding. Funding supports four main components: farm-based, research, processing and monitoring (soil and water). The AESA Program priorities were established through stakeholder consultations and are directed by the AESA Council. The Council is appointed by the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development and has a broad-based industry membership.

Department of the Environment. State of the Environment Report, Terrestrial Ecosystems. Edmonton: n.p., 2001. With permission from Alberta Environment.




Alberta Research Council
Resource ProtectionTechnology and Protection—Issues

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on natural resources in Alberta, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved