hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:29:20 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Heritage Community FoundationAlberta's Political History - The Making of a Province
Institutions and ProcessPeopleEventsCanada's Digital Collection

Provincial Government

Government at the provincial level consists of the Premier and cabinet ministers.  Like their federal counterparts, the Premier and ministers are almost always from the same political party, the one with the most elected members in the Legislative Assembly.

The Premier, cabinet ministers, and all other elected members together make up the Legislative Assembly and are called Members of the Legislative Assembly or MLAs, while the Legislature is the Legislative Assembly together with the Lieutenant Governor.  The provinces' areas of responsibility, defined in the Constitution Act, 1867, include health, child welfare, municipal government, highways, labour, property and civil rights, and education.










Voices of Politics
Children speak with Roy Romanow about the different responsibilities provincial governments have.
Listen Now! (Part 1)

Listen Now! (Part 2)

Listen Now! (Part 3)
Download the free RealPlayer
To Listen to the Voices of Politics, you need Real Player available free from Real Networks.


Reprinted from Teacher's Guide to the Alberta Legislature, 1993 with permission from the Legislative Assembly Office.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on political life in Alberta, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved