hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:30:18 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Heritage Community FoundationAlberta's Political History - The Making of a Province
Institutions and ProcessPeopleEventsCanada's Digital Collection

Government House todayGovernment House

Alberta's Government House is located in Edmonton and was the official residence of the Province's first six Lieutenant-Governors.  It is now used for high-level government conferences, receptions, and dinners. In 1910, the Province of Alberta purchased the property where Government House now stands, as well as the immediate surrounding area, from Montreal businessman James Carruthers for $33,571.  Construction on the building began in 1912, and it was officially opened on October 7, 1913.  The three storey sandstone edifice was designed in the Jacobean Revival style which is characterized by bay windows, high gabled roofs with raised ends, and groups of rectangular windows.  The architect was R.P. Blakey and the building cost $345,882.

Government House, 1913In early 1925, the Legislative Assembly passed a motion to sell Government House following the completion of the term of Lieutenant-Governor Dr. Robert G. Brett.  The mover of this motion stated that although there was no intention to abolish the Office of Lieutenant-Governor, he felt that the maintenance of a "Royal Court" in a democratic province such as Alberta was neither appropriate nor economical.  Another member noted that New Brunswick had closed its Government House a few years earlier.  This motion was rescinded later the same year.

Lieutenant Governor Egbert in front of Government House, 1929In 1938, the Committee of Supply of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta passed a motion that had the final effect of closing Government House.  Once again, economy was given as the reason.  Some Members felt that since the Canadian federal government appointed Alberta's Lieutenant-Governors, they should pay the related expenses.  It was also noted that Ontario had closed its Government House in 1937.  However, other Members felt this action was taken by the Alberta government to "get even" with the Lieutenant-Governor John C. Bowen.  In 1937, he had refused to give Royal Assent to three government bills.  At any rate, Government House was closed in 1938, and Alberta's Lieutenant-Governors had to seek accommodation elsewhere.  In 1966, the provincial government acquired a new official residence for the Lieutenant-Governor at 58 St. George's Crescent, Edmonton.

From 1938 to 1942, Government House remained vacant.  In 1942, during World War II, it was leased to North West Airlines which had contracts for the delivery of aircraft to the United States government to support the construction of the Alaska Highway.  From 1944 to 1950, it was used as a convalescent home for wounded veterans.  Government House was purchased by the federal government's Department of Veterans' Affairs in 1951 and was operated as a home for disabled veterans.  It was during the 1950s that the conservatory, which was once part of Government House, was demolished.

Government House, EdmontonIn 1964, Government House was returned to the Province of Alberta and in the late 1960s, the main floor was restored.  However, there were still many problems related to the maintenance of the building, and in 1971, shortly after the visit of Russian Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin, the main floor ceiling collapsed.

During the middle 1970s, more extensive renovations costing $1,700,000 were completed in order to make Government House serviceable as a centre for high level government conferences, dinners, and receptions.  The general public were first able to visit the restored building on Heritage Day, August 1, 1976.

Alberta's Government House presently consists of a large combination reception and dining area on the main floor, as well as a music room and a library.  The main floor was restored to resemble that of the original building as closely as possible.  The second floor consists of a central reception area surrounded by six small  conference rooms, each named after one of the six Lieutenant-Governors who lived in Government House, and a small study.  The third floor consists of a large conference facility named the Alberta Room.

On June 12, 1985, The Honourable Mary J. LeMessurier, Minister of Culture, announced that Alberta's Government House had been designated a Provincial Historic Resource.  As such, it cannot be altered without the permission of the Minister of Culture.  



Quick Links

Government House has had a very colourful history. 

 Read two Legacy articles and learn about the history of the building, and more about its functions today! 

Reprinted with permission from Alberta Community Development, Cultural Facilities and Historical Resources Division.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on political life in Alberta, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved