hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:34:32 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Top Left of Navigation Bar The Nature of Alberta Logo
Species at Risk in AlbertaView our site layout to navigate to specific areasSearch our site for informationObtain help for navigating our sitePlease emails us your questions and comments!View our partners that helped us in this project

Ecosystems OverviewEnvironmental IssuesGeological History of AlbertaAlberta's Natural RegionsAdditional Resources
Visit Alberta Source!
Visit the Heritage Community Foundation
Visit Canada's Digital Collections

Alberta Land Reclamation 

Alberta's parklandThere are many different types of land in Alberta.  In the west, the Rocky Mountains and the Foothills are covered by alpine (mountain) and subalpine vegetation.  In southern Alberta there are areas of fairly flat grasslands.  Moving through central Alberta the land is flat to rolling and there are more trees and bushes.  Most of Alberta's forests can be found in the northern and northwestern areas of the province.

These areas took millions of years to become what we see today.  The effects of people's activities across the province can also be seen today.  The environmental effects are different in each situation and without conservation and reclamation, problems can worsen.  A few examples of the major land disturbances are surface coal mining, surface mining and extraction of oil sands, waste disposal sites and activities such as forestry, pipelining and transportation.

Reprinted from Focus On Land Reclamation  (1999) with permission of Alberta Environment.

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on the natural history of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved