hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:35:05 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Treaty Maps

By the late 1800s, the British Crown was anxious to expand its control west and to open up the land now known as Canada for European settlement. It became apparent that a number of treaties would have to be made in order to establish the conditions under which the Crown could gain access to the First Peoplesí lands. Treaty 6 was signed in 1876 between representatives of the British Crown and the First Nations of Alberta and Saskatchewan. Additional adhesions were signed in the following years, resulting in the inclusion of two Manitoba First Nations to Treaty 6.

The numbered treaties, which total 11, forever changed Aboriginal life on the prairie. The Treaty 6 First Nations found themselves, for the first time, living life within government boundaries.

Here you will find maps showing the boundaries that were created by the signing of the numbered treaties. Click on the titles below to explore the related maps.

Map: Numbered Treaties of Canada

Map of Treaty 6 Area

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on the making of treaty 6, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved