hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:35:07 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Map of Treaty 6 Area

Following the signing of Treaty 6 in 1876, the Cree, Saulteaux, Chipewyan, and Assiniboine peoples living in the area which now makes up central Alberta and Saskatchewan found themselves confined, for the first time, by government boundaries covering a land area of approximately 313, 390 square kilometres (121,000 square miles). The following map represents these borders, as established by the terms of the original treaty and the adhesions which took place in the following years.

Map of Treaty 6 and surronding area
Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on the making of treaty 6, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved