hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:43:20 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Levels of Government

In Canada we elect people to represent us at different levels: federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal (local). The Constitution grants different areas of responsibility to the federal Parliament and provincial Legislatures. Under the Constitution, Parliament has the authority to govern the territories, but in practice it has turned much of that authority over to the territorial governments.

The Constitution does not provide for local governments, so each province creates its own elected bodies and gives them certain responsibilities. The Parliament of Canada makes laws for the entire country, while each provincial or territorial Legislature makes laws that apply only in that province or territory.