hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:43:47 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Northwest Territories

Northwest Territories: Region in western Canada also known as Rupert's Land, acquired by the Canadian Government in 1869. The Northwest Territories Act of 1875 determined that the area would be governed by an appointed council until such time as the population warranted the necessity of elected officials. The capital of the region was initially Battleford, until 1882 when it was moved to Regina. The province of Manitoba was incorporated in 1870, while British Columbia joined confederation the following year. In 1905 the Laurier government created two more western provinces out of the Northwest Territories, Alberta and Saskatchewan.