hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:44:31 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Rupert's Land

Territory comprised of northern Quebec and Ontario. Manitoba, most of Saskatchewan, southern Alberta and segments of the North West Territory and Nunavut that was granted to the Hudson's Bay Company in 1670 by Charles II of England. Named in honour of Prince Rupert, the King’s cousin and the Hudson Bay Company’s first governor the company was also granted a monopoly on the furs in and complete control of the territory.