hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:45:07 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z


Initiated as a nation-building attempt after Confederation, the Canadian government negotiated a series of treaties with native peoples across Canada that would allow them rights to natural resources and the lands necessary to build a national railway that would link the country together. Signing of these treaties took place over a span of 50 years from 1871 to 1921. Eleven numbered treaties were signed, covering most of the Prairie provinces, northern Ontario and parts of British Columbia, Yukon and the North West Territories, in which the Natives had to agree to accept settlement on reserves.