hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:51:13 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
table anchor table anchor table anchor
The Famous Five: Heroes for Today
       Home   |   Info   |   Contact Us   |   Partners   |   Sitemap
Context, Achievement, Legacy and Timeline spacer

Book Published

Heritage Community Foundation, Albertasource.ca and The Famous Five Foundation

Books Published



Listed below is a chronological list of books that Nellie McClung authored and published:

Sowing Seeds in Danny (1908)
Her first book, it is the first of the Pearlie Watson stories

The Second Chance (1910)
The Pearlie Watson saga continues

The Black Creek Stopping House (1912)
A collection of short stories

In Times Like These (1915)
Essays on temperance and female suffrage

The Next of Kin (1917)
An exhortation to war service

Three Times and Out: A Canadian Boy's Experience in Germany (1918)
The true story of Private Simmons, as told to Nellie McClung

Purple Springs (1921)
The third and final installment of the Pearlie Watson trilogy

When Christmas Crossed "The Peace (1923)
A moralistic novella

Painted Fires (1925); Published in Finland as Finnish Girl in America (1927)
A novel about an immigrant girl's experience

All We Like Sheep (1930)
Sketches, stories, and poems

Flowers for the Living (1931)
A book of short stories

Clearing in the West: My Own Story (1935)
Volume 1 of her autobiography; beginning with childhood, and ending with her marriage to Wes McClung

Leaves From Lantern Lane (1936)
An anthology of her newspaper columns

More Leaves From Lantern Lane (1937)
Another collection of newspaper columns

Before They Call. . . (1937)
A pamphlet on missionary work in Canada

The Stream Runs Fast: My Own Story (1945)
Volume 2 of her autobiography, it begins with her life in Manitou following her marriage and covers her public and political career

Group Picture
Group Picture  
Group Picture    Copyright © 2004 Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on women and the vote in Canada, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved