hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:26:54 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Canada Map of Numbered Treaties 1 Through 11

After the Dominion Government acquired Rupert’s Land (renamed the Northwest Territories) from the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1870, an effort to clear the northwest lands for settlement and development began. To facilitate this effort, numerous treaties were negotiated with the First Nations of the northwest to transfer rights of land use from the First Nations to the Crown. Treaties 1 through 7 were negotiated with First Nations people between 1871 and 1877.

Canada  Map of Numbered Treaties 1 Through 11
Heritage Community Foundation Tagline

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on the making of Treaty 7, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved