hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:26:56 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Treaty 7 Reserves

Prior to the signing of Treaty 7 in 1877, the First Nations living on the land that is now southern Alberta and northern Montana occupied a vast territory of some 50, 000 square miles. The boundaries of this territory stretched as far north as Lesser Slave Lake, Alberta, as far south as Great Falls, Montana, in the United States, and from east to west an area stretching from the present day Alberta / Saskatchewan border to the Rocky Mountains. After 1877, this area was reduced to reserve lands whose boundaries have been renegotiated several times since then.

Treaty 7 Reserves Map
Heritage Community Foundation Tagline

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on the making of Treaty 7, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved