hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:45:44 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
The Métis in Western Canada: O-Tee-Paym-Soo-Wuk

    Home     |     About Us     | Contact Us |     Partners     |     Sitemap    

The BeginningsThe People and Their CommunitiesCulture and Lifeways
Religious Life and Education

Ste Anne ChurchMétis spirituality traces its roots back to Aboriginal spiritualism as well as European Christian tradition. Métis religious life was thus both spiritually aware of the land and of the interrelationships of the living creatures upon it; as well as devoted to Christian religious obligations, such as the Catholic Mass, and the observance of Feast Days.

It was the type of spirituality that reflected a world where Christian missions and schools were charged with the conversion of Aboriginal beliefs into Christian modes of thinking. Religious pilgrimages were as likely to lead the Métis to wild places sacred to the Aboriginal peoples as to the sanctuary of a church.

In its own way, Métis religious life was one that embraced a broader - and, at times, more contentious - spiritual canvas than either the Aboriginal or European traditions that gave rise to it. In the Métis people, two disparate religious traditions struggled to arrive at a common ground, and the spiritual practices that emerged could often be as unique as the individual who practiced them. 

[Top] [Back]


Traditional Beliefs

Anglican/Methodist Missions and Schools

Catholic Missions and Schools

Pilgrimage (Kootenay Plains)

Heritage Community Foundation The Alberta Online Encyclopedia The Alberta Lottery Fund

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on Métis Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved