University of Alberta Expansion
A century ago, the University of Alberta campus was an intimate spot, used by only a small number of staff and students. The University has expanded to include six sites in Edmonton: North Campus (original site), South Campus, Michener Park (housing), Campus Saint-Jean, Book and Record Depository (BARD), and the Enterprise Square.
With expansion and partnerships in mind, Augustana University College in Camrose, Alberta merged with the University of Alberta in 2004, thus becoming Augustana Faculty. In 2005, Olds College, located in Olds, Alberta, and the University of Alberta broadened their affiliated relationship and transfer opportunities.
The North Campus, the main campus with its heritage buildings, covers 50 city blocks. Excluding buildings under construction, the main 2007 campus has 90 buildings. As part of its plan to develop a unique approach to scientific investigation, the University of Alberta is building the Centennial Centre for Interdisciplinary Science (CCIS). This new state-of-the-art facility, located on the historic quadrangle of the University of Alberta, will be one of only a few centres in the world to house interdisciplinary science research teams under one roof. Chemists, biologists, computing scientists, earth and atmospheric scientists, mathematicians, physicists, and psychologists will have the opportunity to focus on questions that are too complex for any one discipline to answer. CCIS is scheduled to open in 2010.
The University's vibrant energy has drawn many exciting initiatives to its doorstep. Among these is the Canadian Literature Centre, established in 2006 and located in HUB Mall. The Canadian Literature Centre promotes the strength and diversity of Canada's written culture by providing author readings and by bringing together researchers, writers, publishers, collectors, students, and the public.
The University's South Campus is located between Belgravia Road and 51 Avenue. With the expansion of the Light Rail Transit (LRT) south, this campus will become even more easily accessible from the main campus. The South Campus now contains Foote Field, the Saville Sports Centre, and the University Farm.
The Foote Field Complex opened in July 2001; it consists of an artificial turf field, a natural grass field, and a state-of-the-art running track which was used as a practice venue during the 2001 IAAF World Championships in Athletics.
The Saville Sports Centre, located immediately south of Foote Field, is a $6.5 million facility that opened in January 2004. The 120,000 square foot (11,150 square metre) building has eight indoor tennis courts, ten international standard curling sheets, and a multi-purpose gymnasium.
The Edmonton Research Station Experimental Farms, part of the South Campus, is approximately the size of 130 football fields. The University Farm is used mainly for in-depth agriculture and forestry research. It has a fully automated weather station along with an office, lab, processing area, and storage and maintenance facilities. This farm sets the University of Alberta apart from other North American agriculture-forestry faculties because staff and students do not have to drive long distances to reach their research station.
The University of Alberta also operates the 60 hectare Ellerslie Research Station, located in Edmonton south of 23 Avenue. The Alberta government owns this land and will not be renewing its lease with the University. Because of Edmonton's housing shortage, the Ellerslie Research Station must be vacated by 2011 to make room for housing developments.
Among the University of Alberta's research sites outside of Edmonton are the Devonian Botanic Gardens west of the city, the Kinsella Ranch and the Ministik Wildlife Research Station southeast of the city, Woodbend Forest and Breton Plots to the southwest, and the Crossley Pine Forest near Rocky Mountain House.
Michener Park is located on 122 Street between 51 Avenue and Whitemud Drive. This University site provides housing for student couples and students with families.
The Saint-Jean educational institution was founded in 1908 and operated by Oblate priests. It was originally known as a juniorat, an institution designed especially for the young men who wished to join the Oblate religious order. Saint-Jean moved to Edmonton in 1910 and to its actual site in 1911. Courses were initially based on the classical college system of Quebec although curriculum from the University of Ottawa was later added. In 1943, the Oblate priests accepted students for secondary and post-secondary studies of a classical nature. To reflect this change, the name Collège Saint-Jean was adopted.
In 1970, limited integration with the University of Alberta took place, which led to another name change, this time to Collège universitaire Saint-Jean. The University of Alberta Board of Governors granted Faculty status to the Collège Universitaire Saint-Jean in 1978, and the institution became known as Faculté Saint-Jean. In 2001, the Faculté Saint-Jean gained a new residence and a renovated Academic & Cultural Centre.
On October 1, 2005, the name was changed to Campus Saint-Jean to reflect the number and variety of programs offered by the school. Campus Saint-Jean is located east of the main University of Alberta campus in a charming section of the Bonnie Doon community west of Rue Marie-Ann Gaboury (91 Street) between 84 Avenue and 86 Avenue.
The Book and Record Depository (BARD) is the University's auxiliary library storage facility and archives. It is located 8 kilometres southeast of the main campus at 8170-50 Street.
With support from all three levels of government, the University of Alberta purchased the historic Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) building on 102 Street and Jasper Avenue. The University hopes to ease its main campus space constraints and to build links to business, research, and development initiatives and to arts and cultural endeavours.
The renovated HBC building is called Enterprise Square. The name was selected to reflect the Square's various academic, commercial, private, and cultural tenants. The word square was selected to correspond not only to the shape of the building, but also to evoke the concept of the square as an open area where people meet and converse. Enterprise Square opened in the fall of 2007.
In addition to the Faculty of Extension, a major Enterprise Square tenant will be TEC Edmonton. TEC Edmonton is a joint University of Alberta and Edmonton Economic Development Corporation which advances technology transfer and commercialization. Other Enterprise Square tenants include several University of Alberta administrative units, the professional development activities of the School of Business, the Alberta Business Family Institute, the Design Gallery, and the Art Gallery of Alberta, while its own building is being built. CHUM TV will remain in its current space in Enterprise Square.
The University of Alberta has a rich history, an exemplary record of achievements, and a promising future. There is much to celebrate during the 2008 centenary.