hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Winnipeg using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:06:39 Jul 14, 2017, and is part of the University of Winnipeg Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Entrance Scholarship Reception

e-dition - October 13, 2006

President & Vice-Chancellor Lloyd Axworthy congratulated Entrance Scholarship recipients on behalf of the University and welcomed the first year students to the UWinnipeg community.

UWinnipeg Students Shine!

Entrance Scholarship Reception

It was a celebration of riches as this year’s outstanding group of University of Winnipeg entrance scholarship winners were feted at a standing-room only reception last week.

Each year, The University of Winnipeg awards more than 1.6 million dollars in scholarships to exceptional students. Faculty, staff, family, and friends celebrated the achievements of this year's award recipients and the generosity of the University's donors at the Entrance Scholarship Ceremony October 5, 2006.

More than 200 first-year University of Winnipeg students received entrance scholarships at the event. Six students received the 2006 Alumni Entrance Scholarships, two were awarded Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarships, and one was the recipient of the Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship.

Alumni Entrance Scholarships

Alumni Entrance Scholarships are awarded to six outstanding Grade 12 students based on academic performance, extracurricular activities, and leadership ability. The major scholarships, valued at $4,500 each, are supported by donations from UWinnipeg alumni, through an endowment fund, and the Annual Appeal.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients: Justin Cloutier (Grant Park High School); Valerie Cobb-Friesen (Fort Richmond Collegiate); Sheryl Sambrano (Tec Voc High School); Anneliese Schoppe (Arthur Meighen High School); Megan Seddon (Windsor Park Collegiate); and, Alana Westwood (University of Winnipeg Collegiate).

Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarships

The Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarships were established by Douglas Leatherdale, a 1957 graduate of United College, in memory of his father.  The scholarship covers the tuition costs of 30 credit hours for two outstanding first-year students from rural Manitoba.  Congratulations to Leslie McNaughton (Stonewall Collegiate Institute) and Raya Stutsky (Teulon Collegiate Institute).

Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship

The Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship was established in recognition of Dr. Marsha P. Hanen, President of The University of Winnipeg from 1989 – 1999.  This major scholarship, consisting of a $10,500 award, is presented annuall7 to a high school graduate who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and extracurricular contributions in school and the community. Congratulations to Caitlin Eliasson (St. Mary’s Academy.)

< Back to Volume 24 Number 4