hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Winnipeg using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:07:18 Jul 14, 2017, and is part of the University of Winnipeg Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Continuing Scholarship Reception

e-dition - Dec. 1, 2006

Celebrating their achievements: (left to right)Susan Taylor, Doug Storey, President Emeritus Dr. Henry E. Duckworth,  Aaron Trachtenberg and Carissa Nikkel. Storey and Trachtenberg each received a Sir William Stephenson Scholarship, and Taylor and Nikkel were each awarded the Dr. and Mrs. R.O.A. Hunter Scholarship.

Celebrating Excellence

Each year, The University of Winnipeg distributes more than 1.3 million dollars in scholarships to exceptional students. Faculty, staff, family, and friends celebrated the achievements of this year's award recipients at the Continuing Scholarship Reception.

The University of Winnipeg's scholarship program celebrates academic excellence and attracts top students. Entrance scholarships reward the achievements of students just starting their university studies, while continuing scholarships provide ongoing recognition for students who shine in any year of their degree program. For continuing students, scholarships of up to $9,600 are available in each year of studies at The University of Winnipeg.

Exceptional Students
On Wednesday, November 22, 2006 The University of Winnipeg honoured a number of its exceptional continuing students at a special scholarship reception. Susan Thompson, CEO and President of The University of Winnipeg Foundation, emceed the evening. calling on President Lloyd Axworthy to present the awards. He offered congratulations to the award winners and thanked faculty, staff, and donors for their generosity and continued support of the University and its students. “It is my hope that your experience has been and will continue to be a positive one and that at the completion of your studies, you'll join the Alumni Association as a proud graduate of The University of Winnipeg,” he said. “Continue to make proud this school and the donors who believed enough in you-our students-to give generously towards your future.”

Sir William Stephenson & Dr. and Mrs. R.O.A. Hunter scholarships

The awards ceremony included the presentation of the following prestigious scholarships:

The Sir William Stephenson Scholarship was presented to Douglas Storey and Aaron Trachtenberg. This scholarship was established in 1984 by the intrepid Sir William Stephenson through The Winnipeg Foundation. Awarded annually, up to two students may receive this award who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, superior leadership qualities and the potential to make a valuable contribution to Canada

The Dr. and Mrs. R.O.A. Hunter Scholarship was presented to Carissa Nickel and Susan Taylor. This scholarship was established in memory of Dr. R.O.A. Hunter, third chancellor of The University of Winnipeg, and his wife Doris Hunter. It is awarded to a continuing, undergraduate student, or students, with high academic standing, outstanding leadership qualities and significant extracurricular involvement.

< Back to e-dition December 1, 2006 - Volume 24 Number 9