hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Winnipeg using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:25:53 Jul 14, 2017, and is part of the University of Winnipeg Websites collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
leatherdale-hanen winners

e-dition - November 1, 2007

UWinnipeg President Lloyd Axworthy with Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship Award winners Courtney Schwegel (left) and Roslyn Graham (right); and Marsha Hanen Entrance Scholarship Award winner Megan Paavola (centre).

Entrance Scholarship Reception

By  Naniece Ibrahim

Over 200 distinguished first-year University of Winnipeg students were recognized for their academic achievements at the Entrance Scholarship Reception in Riddell Hall Oct. 29, 2007. Each year the University awards more than 2 million dollars in scholarships to exceptional students.

“An Entrance Scholarship is an honour of which you have a right to be proud,” said Lloyd Axworthy, President and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Winnipeg at the event. “It means that you have been recognized not only for your outstanding past performance, but also for your future potential.”

Riddell Hall was jam packed with proud parents, friends and family to celebrate the first-year UWinnipeg students that received scholarships at the event. Special guests in at the reception included Dr. Henry Duckworth, President Emeritus of The University of Winnipeg, and his wife, Shirley; Dr. John Bulman, Chancellor Emeritus of The University of Winnipeg, and his wife, Laureen; Dr. Brian Stevenson, Vice-President (Academic) and the former mayor Susan Thompson, President and CEO of The University of Winnipeg Foundation.

Dr. Axworthy greeted and congratulated each of the scholarship recipients and presented all of the recipients with a letter of congratulations.

The major entrance scholarships that are awarded annually include the Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarships given to two students; the Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship; and six students receive the 2007Alumni Entrance Scholarships.

Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship
The Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship was established by Douglas Leatherdale, a 1957 graduate of United College, in memory of his father. The $24,000 scholarship covers the tuition costs of 30 credit hours for two outstanding first-year students from rural Manitoba. Congratulations to Roslyn Graham (Portage Collegiate Institute) and Courtney Schwegel (Gimili High School).

Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship
The Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship was established in recognition of Dr. Marsha P. Hanen, President of The University of Winnipeg from 1989 – 1999. This major scholarship, consisting of a $10,500 award, is presented annually to a high school graduate who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and extracurricular contributions in school and the community. Congratulations to Megan Paavola (St. Boniface Diocesan High School).

major entrance scholars

UWinnipeg President Lloyd Axworthy with Alumni Entrance Scholarship winners (from left) Ariel Levine, Jordan Both, Jayne Miles and Adelina Petit-Vouriot. 

Alumni Entrance Scholarships
Alumni Entrance Scholarships are awarded to six outstanding Grade 12 students based on academic performance, extracurricular activities, and leadership ability. The major scholarships, valued at $5,000 each, are supported by donations from UWinnipeg alumni, through an endowment fund, and the Annual Appeal.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients: Jordan Both (Shoal Lake School, Shoal Lake, MB); Donna Lee (Sisler High School); Ariel Levine (Garden City Collegiate); Jayne Miles (Univerity of Winnipeg Collegiate); Adelina Petit-Vouriot (J.H. Burns Collegiate); Richa Sharma (Maples Collegiate).

< Back to e-dition - Volume 25 Number 5