hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of Publications Office of the European Union using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:06:03 Dec 23, 2016, and is part of the European Union collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Digital Single Market
Digital Economy & Society

Finalists of the European Broadband Awards 2016

A total of 66 projects applied for the European Broadband Award 2016 from all over Europe. After thorough assessment and extensive discussions, the jury consisting of five European broadband experts, selected 16 finalists. The five winners will be announced by G.H.Oettinger, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, on the 14th November at the Award Ceremony during the "B-DAY: Going Giga" conference.

The following projects from each of the five categories were selected as finalists by the jury of the European Broadband Awards 2016:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment

  2. Cost reduction and co-investment

    • Breitband-Masterplan für Tirol, Austria
    • Net4all - Public and private partnership to bring UBB network to industrial areas in digital divide in Emilia-Romagna, Italy
    • APOLO-CALIFORNIA, FTTH co-investment agreement between Orange Spain & Vodafone Spain, Spain
  3. Socio-economic impact and affordability

  4. Openness and competition

  5. Future-proof and quality of service

    • NG-PON2, Portugal
    • RemIX: A Distributed Internet Exchange for Remote and Rural Networks, United Kingdom
    • The Ludgate Hub, Skibbereen - creating the 1GB community, Ireland

G.H. Oettinger, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, will announce and award the five winners on 14th November at the Award Ceremony of the "B-DAY: Going Giga" conference. Registration and agenda of the event are available.