The Group consists of all EU Member States and 9 non-EU high-level public officials and from national administrations in charge of ICT policy.

The Digital Single Market Strategic Group (DSM SG) offers a forum for exchanging ideas and experiences between EU Member States, Non-Members States and with European Commission services and for reviewing the effectiveness of DSM actions and national measures. The main purpose of the group (formerly known as DAE HLG)is to facilitate upstream policy discussions and to prepare the members for policy making and implementation in areas covered by the Digital Single Market. The Group has been active since 24 February 2016, and meets three times per year.