The Digital Single Market designates the 2014-2019 strategy of the European Commission for the best possible access to the online world for individuals and businesses.

the three pillars of the digital single market

A Digital Single Market (DSM) is one in which the free movement of persons, services and capital is ensured and where the individuals and businesses can seamlessly access and engage in online activities under conditions of fair competition, and a high level of consumer and personal data protection, irrespective of their nationality or place of residence.

The 2014-2019 Commission had identified the completion of the DSM as one of its 10 political priorities.

The Pillars

The DSM Strategy was built on three pillars:

  1. Access: better access for consumers and businesses to digital goods and services across Europe;
  2. Environment: creating the right conditions and a level playing field for digital networks and innovative services to flourish;
  3. Economy & Society: maximising the growth potential of the digital economy.

Digital Single Market's achievements

Under the Juncker Commission, 30 legislative proposals on the Digital Single Market were made.

At the end of the mandate, 28 of these legislative proposals have been agreed upon by the co-legislature. 

Download the factsheetA Digital Single Market for the benefit of all Europeans”.

And review the achievements in those six areas:

More information