The broad aim of the study is to assist the Commission and ultimately countries' authorities in monitoring the progress made by enlargement countries towards compliance with the EU rules for electronic communications and information society services. The countries concerned are Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo under UNSCR 1244, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, and Iceland. These countries have been given the perspective of becoming EU members once they fulfil the necessary conditions, and are at various stages on their road towards the EU.