hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:06:16 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
table anchor table anchor table anchor
The Famous Five: Heroes for Today
       Home   |   Info   |   Contact Us   |   Partners   |   Sitemap
Context, Achievement, Legacy and Timeline spacer


Heritage Community Foundation, Albertasource.ca and The Famous Five Foundation

The Heritage Community Foundation, project developer and site manager, wishes to thank the following institutions for their dedication and use of time and resources in guiding the development of this site.

Thanks goes out to the following individuals and institutions for their guidance and expertise in providing the use of copyrighted materials and ensuring the integrity of the information provided.

We are enormously grateful to the countless volunteers, sponsors, and contributors to The Famous 5 - Heroes for Today. Without their commitment to ensuring that these five remarkable women will be remembered by new generations of Canadian nation builders, this resource could never have been created.

Famous 5 Foundation
Box 72137
RPO Glenmore Landing Calgary, AB T2V 5H9

(403) 253-1927 www.famous5.ca

Millennium Bureau of
Heritage Community Foundation
Alberta Community Development – Multiculturalism
Education Fund
PanCanadian Petroleum
Calgary Herald
BMO Harris Private Banking
Canadian Occidental Petroleum
Colt Engineering
Imperial Oil Resources
Canada Safeway
Critical Mass
Calgary Foundation

Famous 5 Foundation
Board of Directors 2005
Darlene Gehrke
Marcia Johnston
Pritha Kalar
Donna Leonard
Elizabeth Marshall
Carole Perkins
Susana Slavnik
Frances Wright



Famous 5 Education Committee
Dr Lorraine Cathro
Grit McCreath
Rosalyn Schmidt
Lorraine Andrews
Leanne Baugh-Peterson
Kaye Brock
Wendy Clewes
Mary Comeau
Elda Hauschildt
Laurie Hill
Louise Klatzel-Mudry
Evelyn Luzi
Linda McClelland
Marg McCready
Beth McKenty
Nancy Millar
Elaine Park
Kathy Pinder
Maureen Ranaghan
Almas Rawjani-Rawji
Barbara Duke Romano
Susan Scott
Mary Shaw
Pat Shields
Susie Sparks (ED, Famous 5 Foundation)
Dr. Anne White
Frances Wright (Founder of Famous 5 Foundation)

Famous 5 Foundation

Former Directors
Dr. Lorraine Cathro
M. Johnnie Chorny
Jennifer Diakiw
Beth Diamond
Dr. Maria Erikson
Bev Hughes
Kris Matthews
Allison Maher
Elaine McCoy, Q.C.
Grit McCreath
Nancy E. Millar
Jamila Premji
Rosalyn Schmidt
Lynn Webster

Project Management, Development & Writing

Patricia Shields
InPraxis Group Inc.

Linda Distad

Cheryl Anne Lieberman Typographics

Linda Rae Carson
Teacher, Edmonton Public Schools

John Fielding
Professor of History and Contemporary Studies Curriculum, Queen’s University, Faculty of Education

Lois Gluck
Teacher, St Albert School District

Pat Lychak
Social Studies Consultant,

Doug Ramsay
InPraxis Group Inc.

Marcia Tyerman
Teacher, Edmonton Public Schools




Group Picture
Group Picture  
Group Picture    Copyright © 2004 Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on women and the vote in Canada, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Community Foundation All Rights Reserved