During the 1880s, the land 15 kilometres southeast of
Edmonton, now known as Beaumont, was inhabited by the Paspashase
Aboriginal band. In the latter part of the decade, when federal
law permitted the sale of the Aboriginal lands, the band agreed
to sell their reserve.
By the spring of 1892, the railway had reached the area and
served to open the territory to the first homesteaders. The
following year, approximately 20 families of French descent had
settled in the Sandy Lake district marking the beginning
Owing to the combined efforts of the Oblate Fathers and
settlers, a community church was built, and mass was no longer
held in local homes. The first mass was sung at St. Vital Parish
on 30 June 1895. Shortly thereafter, in the spirit of growth,
Father Morin travelled to Ottawa to petition for a post office.
As the townsite was situated on a ridge overlooking the
southwest prairie, the community was appropriately named
Prompted by further settlers from the United States, Quebec,
and Ontario, Beaumont grew technologically, economically, and
culturally. Telephone service entered the area in January 1901,
and agricultural practices remained significant. Many in the
community enjoyed hunting, fishing, swimming, curling, and
Today, Beaumont is a thriving town of 5,700 people. Thanks to
a strong housing industry and small-town appeal coupled with its
proximity to Alberta’s capital city, Beaumont continues to grow.
The town maintains its French-Canadian identity through the
style of its buildings, street names, and the French immersion
programs offered in schools. In addition, the town hosted the
2004 Fête Franco-Albertain.
- Beaumont History Book Committee. Beau Mont, Histoire
de Beaumont et district, History of Beaumont and district,
1885-1960. Beaumont, 1985.