hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:30:24 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Heritage Community FoundationAlberta's Political History - The Making of a Province
Institutions and ProcessPeopleEventsCanada's Digital Collection
Political Institutions

Rutherford House - The Front Hall, Staircase and Parlour 

Rutherford House: Front HallThe Rutherford Residence was designed first and foremost for elegant entertaining. The rich oak panelling and maple flooring of the spacious front hall provided guests with a stunning first impression of the family home. The central feature of the hall was its main staircase. With oak balustered rails and newels carved with the Scottish acorn and thistle, the staircase remains one of the Rutherford House's grandest features.

Rutherford House: Tea RoomUndoubtedly Mrs. Rutherford's favourite room, the parlour housed formal "At Home" afternoon teas, musical gatherings, and during the Great War, various Ladies Auxiliary Red Cross functions. Like all guest-related areas in the Rutherford home, the parlour was floored with maple, and boasted a wide curtained doorway to make it more open and inviting to visitors. The lovely furnishings and sunny ambiance made this room an ideal location for Hazel Rutherford's wedding to Stanley McCuaig in 1919. The room was painted pink for the occasion but has since been restored to the current goldenrod colour more accurate to the year 1915.


Reprinted with permission from the Rutherford House Provincial Historic Site

Jurisdictions, Roles and Responsibilities - Elections - Making Policy - Institutions - Museums

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
††††††††††† For more on political life in Alberta, visit Peelís Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved