hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:46:27 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Map of Treaty Areas

Click on a treaty area for more details.

Map of Alberta Treaty Areas

In Alberta there are 44 First Nations in three treaty areas; 124 reserves; and approximately 700,537 hectares of reserve land. The most commonly spoken First Nations' languages are: Blackfoot, Cree, Chipweyan, Dene, Sarcee, and Stoney (Nakoda Sioux).

map courtesy of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Alberta Region Current as of July 2000

[previous] [next] [back to top]

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on the Aboriginal history of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.