hide You are viewing an archived web page collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:46:28 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia

Map of Treaty 6

Treaty 6 Signed at Fort Carlton and Fort Pitt in 1876 Covers central Alberta and Saskatchewan 16 Alberta First Nations

Treaty 6 Area and member nations

24 - Alexander First Nation

25 - Alexis Band

26 - Beaver Lake First Nation

27 - Cold Lake First Nations

28 - Enoch Cree Nation #440

29 - Ermineskin Tribe

30 - Frog Lake First Nation

31 - Heart Lake First Nation

32 - Kehewin Cree Nation

33 - Louis Bull Tribe

34 - Montana Band

35 - O'Chiese First Nation

36 - Paul First Nation

37 - Saddle Lake First Nation*

38 - Samson Cree Nation

39 - Sunchild First Nation

40 - Whitefish Lake First Nation* #128 (Goodfish)

*The Saddle Lake First Nation and the Whitefish Lake (Goodfish) First Nation are administered separately but are considered one First Nation under the Indian Act. The Stoney Tribal Administration (in Treaty 7 area) includes the Bearspaw, Chiniki and Wesley First Nations (#44).

map courtesy of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Alberta Region
Current as of July 2000

[previous] [next] [back to top]

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on the Aboriginal history of Alberta, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.