hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of University of Alberta using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:57:55 Dec 08, 2010, and is part of the HCF Alberta Online Encyclopedia collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Rupert's Land

We are not talking about your neighbour’s front yard here! Rupert’s Land was the name given to the territory made up of northern Quebec and Ontario, Manitoba, most of Saskatchewan, southern Alberta, and parts of the North West Territory and Nunavut. Charles II of England gave this huge piece of land to the Hudson Bay Company in 1670. Named in honour of Prince Rupert, the King’s cousin and the Hudson Bay Company’s first governor, the company was given complete control of the territory. By 1870, the Hudson Bay Company had built 100 fur trade posts in the territory but, in 1869, the Canadian government bought Rupert’s Land from the Company.