hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of Greenpeace International using Archive-It. This page was captured on 05:36:39 Apr 01, 2020, and is part of the Greenpeace Archive collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information

MEP Arctic 30 Solidarity Statement

Publication - October 23, 2013
The European Parliament has called the charges against the Arctic 30 "disproportionate." It called on the Council and the European Commission to "take action to ensure the release of the detainees". Over one hundred MEPs from 21 countries and seven different political groups have also signed a statement of solidarity with the Arctic 30 calling for their release.

European Parliament press release (24 October 2013)


Arctic 30 solidarity declaration

We stand in solidarity with the Arctic 30, a group of Greenpeace activists and two freelance photojournalists detained in Russia without trial after a peaceful protest against Gazprom’s reckless Arctic oil drilling plans.

As global warming causes Arctic ice to vanish at unprecedented rates, oil companies are venturing into ever more northerly waters, prospecting for more of the fossil fuels that are causing the melt in the first place. The consequences of an oil spill in these fragile seas, home to rare animals and vital to the livelihoods of Indigenous Peoples that have lived here for millennia, would be catastrophic. The threat the Arctic faces demands that urgent action is taken to protect it.

We demand the immediate release of all detainees, as well as the Greenpeace International ship Arctic Sunrise, and an end to oil drilling in the icy waters of the fragile Arctic, where an adequate response to an oil spill is not possible.

Your sincerely,

[Signed by 118 MEPs from 22 countries and seven different groups across the political spectrum]


Mr. Martin Ehrenhauser, Independent

Ms. Karin Kadenbach, S&D

Mr. Jörg Leichtfried, S&D

Ms. Ulrike Lunacek, Greens/EFA


Ms. Anne Delvaux, EPP

Ms. Isabelle Durant, Greens/EFA

Mr. Bart Staes, Greens/EFA

Ms. Kathleen van Brempt, S&D


Mr. Takis Hadjigeorgiou, GUE/NGL


Ms. Margrete Auken, Greens/EFA

Mr. Ole Christensen, S&D

Mr. Dan Jørgensen, S&D

Ms. Christel Schaldemose, S&D

Mr. Søren Bo Søndergaard, GUE/NGL

Ms. Emille Turunen, S&D


Mr. Tunne Kelam, EPP

Ms. Siiri Oviir, ALDE

Mr. Indrek Tarand, Greens/EFA


Ms. Satu Hassi, Greens/EFA

Ms. Sirpa Pietikäinen, EPP


Ms. Sandrine-Sabrine Bélier, Greens/EFA

Mr. Jean-Luc Bennahmias, ALDE

Mr. Jean-Paul Besset, Greens/EFA

Mr. Jean-Jacob Bicep, Greens/EFA

Mr. José Bové, Greens/EFA

Mr. Jean-Marie Cavada, EPP

Mr. Yves Cochet, Greens/EFA

Mr. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Greens/EFA

Ms. Karima Delli, Greens/EFA

Ms. Hélène Flautre, Greens/EFA

Ms. Catherine Grèze, Greens/EFA

Mr. Yannick Jadot, Greens/EFA

Ms. Eva Joly, Greens/EFA

Ms. Nicole Kill-Nielsen, Greens/EFA

Mr. Patrick Le Hyaric, GUE/NGL

Ms. Corinne Lepage, ALDE

Mr. Jean-Luc Mélenchon, GUE/NGL

Ms. Michèle Rivasi, Greens/EFA

Ms. Marie-Christine Vergiat, GUE/NGL


Mr. Reinhard Bütikofer, Greens/EFA

Ms. Cornelia Ernst, GUE/NGL

Mr. Matthias Groote, S&D

Mr. Thomas Händel, GUE/NGL

Ms. Rebecca Harms, Greens/EFA

Ms. Franziska Keller, Greens/EFA

Mr. Jürgen Klute, GUE/NGL

Mr. Alexander Lambsdorff, ALDE

Ms. Sabine Lösing, GUE/NGL

Ms. Martina Michels, GUE/NGL 

Mr. Ulrike Rodust, S&D

Ms. Heide Rühle, Greens/EFA

Mr. Andreas Schwab, EPP

Mr. Helmut Scholz, GUE/NGL

Ms. Sabine Wils, GUE/NGL 

Ms. Gabriele Zimmer, GUE/NGL


Mr. Kriton Arsenis, S&D

Mr. Nikolaos Chountis, GUE/NGL

Mr. Nikos Chrysogelos, Greens/EFA


Mr. Paul Murphy, GUE/NGL


Ms. Sonia Alfano, ALDE

Mr. Franceso de Angelis, S&D

Mr. Sergio Cofferati, S&D

Mr. Vincenzo Iovine, S&D

Mr. Gianni Pittella, S&D

Mr. Andrea Zanoni, ALDE


Ms. Sandra Kalniete, EPP


Ms. Laima Liucija Andrikienė, EPP

Mr. Leonidas Donskis, ALDE

Ms. Radvilė Morkūnaitė-Mikulėnienė, EPP

Mr. Justas Vincas Paleckis, S&D


Mr. Claude Turmes, Greens/EFA

The Netherlands

Ms. Marije Cornelissen, Greens/EFA

Mr. Cornelis de Jong, GUE/NGL

Mr. Bas Eickhout, Greens/EFA

Mr. Gerben Jan Gerbrandy, ALDE

Ms. Kartika Liotard, GUE/NGL

Ms. Judith Sargentini, Greens/EFA

Mr. Peter van Dalen, ECR


Ms. Sidonia Jędrzejewska, EPP

Mr. Krzysztof Lisek, EPP

Mr. Marek Siwiec, Independent

Mr. Piotr Borys, EPP

Ms. Lena Kolarska-Bobińska, EPP

Ms. Danuta Jazłowiecka, EPP


Mr. Carlos Coelho, EPP

Ms. Maria da Graça Carvalho, EPP

Ms. Edite Estrela, S&D

Ms. Marisa Matias, GUE/NGL

Ms. Alda Sousa, GUE/NGL

Mr. Rui Tavares, Greens/EFA


Ms. Katarina Nevedalová, S&D


Ms. Tanja Fajon, S&D

Ms. Romana Jordan, EPP

Ms. Mojca Kleva Kekuš, S&D

Mr. Ivo Vajgl, ALDE

Mr. Milan Zver, EPP


Mr. Sergio Gutiérrez Prieto, S&D

Mr. Iñaki Irazabalbeitia Fernandez, Greens/EFA

Mr. Willy Meyer, GUE/NGL

Mr. Raül Romeva i Rueda, Greens/EFA


Mr. Mikael Gustafsson, GUE/NGL

Ms. Isabella Lövin, Greens/EFA

Mr. Carl Schlyter, Greens/EFA

Mr. Olle Schmidt, ALDE


Ms. Martina Anderson (Northern Ireland), GUE/NGL

Ms. Catherine Bearder, ALDE

Mr. Phil Bennion, ALDE

Mr. Chris Davies, ALDE

Mr. Andrew Duff, ALDE

Ms. Fiona Hall, ALDE

Ms. Jean Lambert, Greens/EFA

Ms. Sarah Ludford, ALDE

Mr. George Lyon, ALDE

Ms. Linda McAvan, S&D

Mr. Edward McMillan-Scott, ALDE

Mr. Keith Taylor, Greens/EFA

Ms. Rebecca Taylor, ALDE

Mr. Graham Watson, ALDE

Mr. Claude Moraes, S&D