hide You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:36:06 Jun 20, 2019, and is part of the National Library of Medicine collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page. Loading media information
Skip to content
Several pictures of doctors who are featured on the Local Legends web site

LOCAL LEGENDS: News and Events

Group picture depicting honored Local Legends, American Medical Women's Association


Changing the Face of Medicine Schedule for Traveling Exhibition


House of Representatives Sponsors announce search for 2005 Local Legends. June, 2004.

American Medical Women's Association Honors 2004 Local Legends at annual conference in San Diego (see picture left), February, 2004.

Picture depicting ribbon cutting ceremony for the Changing the Face of Medicine exhibit
Elizabeth Fee, PhD, Chief, NLM's History of Medicine Division, joins Tenley E. Albright, MD, Chair of the Exhibition Ad Hoc Advisory Committee, and Donald A.B. Lindberg, MD, NLM Director in a ribbon-cutting ceremony to open the NLM's exhibition "Changing the Face of Medicine" on October 14, 2003.


Dr. Stephanie Wolf-Rosenblum Selected New Hampshire's "Local Legend" AMWA Award Names Woman Physician From Each State (2/9/04)
Health Director, Dr. Jean Malecki, Honored as a Local Legend (1/30/04)


Two Local Women Among Legends (5/2/04)

UC Physicians Among Four Ohioans to Receive National Award (05/04)

Hess, Lampkin Named Local Legends (4/30/04)

Cramer Nominates Local Doctors for National Award (4/19/04)

Eva Chalas, gynecologic oncology surgeon and coordinator of Cancer Services, named a "Local Legend" (4/12/04)

Niebyl and Scott-Connor Honored as Local Legends (University of Iowa, 04/04)

Awards and Achievements (3/29/04)

Drs. Maroulla Stavrinou Gleaton and Lani Graham proposed for honor in National Library of Medicine exhibition (3/19/03)

Reynolds Presents Dr. Linda Brodsky with Local Legends Award (3/5/04)

Dr. Stephanie Wolf-Rosenblum Selected New Hampshire's "Local Legend" (2/9/04)

Dr. Carolyn D. Runowicz, Director of the UConn Comprehensive Cancer Center, Named Local Legend (2/6/04)

Cecilia Rosales, MD receives Local Legend Award (02/04)

Health Director, Dr. Jean Malecki, Honored as a Local Legend (1/30/04)

University of Miami School of Medicine Physician Wins National Award (1/22/04)

Hinchey Nominates Dr. Katherine Seibert for "Local Legends" Award (10/2/03)

Dr. Seibert Nominated for National Award by Congressman Hinchey


Tennessee Local Legend acknowledged in Congressional Record (3/9/04)

Tribute to Dr. Margaret Allen, Dr. Ramoncita (Raye) Maestas, and Dr. Christine Surawicz (11/19/03)

Photo depicting the Telly Award, a bronze, silver or gold statuette


The TELLY AWARDS® were founded in 1980, to showcase and give recognition to outstanding non-network and cable TV commercials. The competition was expanded several years ago to include film and video productions as well as non-network TV programming. Entries compete against a high standard of excellence. The judges consist of a group of highly qualified production professionals. They begin with concept, then consider all the things that a producer does in building a finished piece: writing, on-screen talent quality, set design, lighting, cinematography, editing, sound, music, etc. In short, the judges look at each piece as a whole, and reward outstanding overall quality. Telly winners this year included HBO, Miramax Films, Universal Studios, ESPN, PBS, NBC, Discovery Channel, History Channel, Disney, Microsoft, MTV, Nickelodeon, etc. The TELLY statuette has appeared on the set of many prime-time TV shows, such as Thirtysomething, Murder She Wrote, Newhart, News Radio, and in the feature film, What Women Want.